30.06.2018 | Michael Roth

Data Protection vs. Information Security?

Compliance

The issue of data protection always plays a role in the design and operation of information security - not always to the delight of business managers.

Information security consulting usually deals with topics such as cybersecurity, identity and access management or information security management systems. These areas are usually located in the client’s IT or business units and are intended to protect the company’s information from all possible breaches.

Integral approach

Data protection as a discipline of civil law, on the other hand, aims to protect the persons associated with the information; it is rarely the catalyst for security projects and is at best considered as a framework condition. The objectives of the two fields of consideration are therefore different, but overlap to a large extent. They can therefore hardly be dealt with in isolation.

As a rule, existing internal and external framework conditions of the customer must be taken into account when fulfilling the mandate. These include security strategies and guidelines such as applicable standards or classification specifications. In addition, legal requirements always apply to the processing of personal data, usually also for other company data. It is therefore imperative for all work in one of the two domains to approach the issue integra and not to disregard the requirements of the other domain. Examples of this can be found in abundance, particularly in highly regulated economic sectors such as the financial industry or healthcare.

Standards and compliance

Projects often aim to determine the status of a company’s own information security in terms of industry practice and the state of the art. Established standards, such as the ISO/IEC 27001 standard, the NIS Cybersecurity Framework or industry-specific references such as HIPAA for the healthcare sector or PCI-DSS for credit card transactions, can serve this purpose well. All of these standards also include requirements for the implementation of data protection resulting from national or other applicable law.

Conversely, data protection law also practically always includes generic information security measures (technical and organizational measures); in Swiss law, they can be found in Article 7 FADP, and in the European GDPR in Article 32. If a court has to examine the appropriateness of data protection measures, it will most likely base its determination on the aforementioned or comparable (industry) standards. Experience has shown that the same applies to more or less specific requirements of the relevant regulator.

There is therefore a high degree of interaction between factual and formal law on information security and data protection; both sources for data processing measures cannot be considered in isolation.

Cooperation instead of demarcation

In the day-to-day work of information security consultants, this interaction rarely arises by itself Information security is now widely recognized as a business enabler and is usually designed and operated seriously - also because it only has to meet internal requirements as far as possible. Data protection, on the other hand, is still regarded as a classic (legal/external) framework condition, and therefore as a brake on business.

Nevertheless, it is clear that the disciplines cannot be separated; they are mutually dependent and fulfill each other, and the underlying system can rarely be changed on one side without affecting the other. The formal linking of the two areas is correct and necessary in terms of content. A project to introduce an IAM system or legally compliant archiving in accordance with GeB√ľV or other retention regulations is inconceivable without an in-depth examination of the associated data protection requirements.

Project assignments should take this initial situation into account. The project setup, target definition and measurement as well as the effects of the project results must be implemented accordingly, and should be expanded if necessary. The company’s legal service, ideally the data protection officer, can provide support in this regard.

Temet Threat Landscape 2018

Possible threats to information security

Note: This article was also published in Wirtschaftsguide as a supplement to the Sonntagszeitung.

Compliance Cybersecurity


About the author
Michael Roth
About the author
Michael Roth, Expert Security Consultant

Der Themenkomplex Datenschutz spielt im Design und Betrieb der Informationssicherheit immer wieder eine Rolle – nicht immer zur Freude der Geschäftsverantwortlichen.

In der Beratung zur Informationssicherheit geht es üblicherweise um Themengebiete wie Cyber Security, Identitäts- und Zugriffsmanagement oder Managementsysteme zur Informationssicherheit. Diese Bereiche sind meist in IT- oder in Business-Einheiten der Kunden angesiedelt und sollen die Informationen der Unternehmen vor allen möglichen Verletzungen schützen.

Integrale Betrachtungsweise

Datenschutz als Disziplin des Zivilrechts bezweckt dagegen den Schutz der Personen, die mit den Informationen verbunden sind; er ist selten der Katalysator für Sicherheitsprojekte und wird bestenfalls als Rahmenbedingung berücksichtigt. Die Ziele der beiden Betrachtungsfelder sind also unterschiedlich, überlappen sich aber in weiten Teilen. Sie können deshalb kaum isoliert bearbeitet werden.

In der Regel müssen bei Mandatserfüllung bestehende interne und externe Rahmenbedingungen der Kunden berücksichtigt werden. Dazu gehören Sicherheitsstrategien und Richtlinien wie etwa anwendbare Standards oder Klassifizierungsvorgaben. Ausserdem gelten immer rechtliche Anforderungen an die Bearbeitung von Personendaten, meist auch für andere Daten des Unternehmens. Es ist deshalb bei allen Arbeiten in einer der beiden Domänen zwingend, die Fragestellung integral anzugehen und dazu die Anforderungen der anderen Domäne nicht ausser Acht zu lassen. Beispiele dazu finden sich zuhauf, insbesondere in stark regulierten Wirtschaftsbereichen wie der Finanzindustrie oder dem Gesundheitswesen.

Standards und Compliance

Oft bezwecken Projekte eine Standortbestimmung der eigenen Informationssicherheit bezüglich Branchenüblichkeit und Stand der Wissenschaft. Dazu können etablierte Standards gute Dienste leisten, etwa der Standard ISO/IEC 27001, das NIST Cybersecurity Framework oder branchenspezifische Referenzen wie HIPAA für das Gesundheitswesen oder PCI-DSS für Kreditkartentransaktionen. Alle diese Standards umfassen auch Anforderungen an die Umsetzung des Datenschutzes, der sich aus dem nationalen oder anderem anwendbaren Recht ergibt.

Umgekehrt umfasst auch das Datenschutzrecht praktisch immer generische Massnahmen der Informationssicherheit (technische und organisatorische Massnahmen); im Schweizerischen Recht finden sie sich in Artikel 7 DSG, in der europäischen DSGVO etwa gleichlautend im Artikel 32. Muss ein Gericht die Angemessenheit von Massnahmen zum Datenschutz prüfen, wird es zu deren Bestimmung mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit auf die erwähnten oder vergleichbare (Branchen)Standards abstützen. Dasselbe gilt erfahrungsgemäss für mehr oder weniger konkrete Anforderungen des relevanten Regulators.

Es gibt daher eine hohe Wechselwirkung zwischen faktischen und formellem Recht zu Informationssicherheit und Datenschutz; beide Quellen für Massnahmen der Datenbearbeitung können nicht isoliert betrachtet werden.

Kooperation statt Abgrenzung

Im Alltag des Informationssicherheits-Beraters ergibt sich diese Wechselwirkung selten von selbst. Informationssicherheit ist inzwischen verbreitet als Business Enabler anerkannt und wird meist seriös konzipiert wie betrieben – auch, weil sie weitestgehend nur internen Anforderungen genügen muss. Datenschutz wird dagegen nach wie vor als klassische (rechtliche/externe) Rahmenbedingung betrachtet, mithin als Bremse des Geschäfts.

Dennoch ist klar: trennbar sind die Disziplinen nicht; sie bedingen und erfüllen sich gegenseitig, das zugrundeliegende System kann auf der einen Seite selten ohne Auswirkungen auf der anderen Seite verändert werden. Die formelle Verknüpfung der beiden Gebiete ist inhaltlich richtig und nötig. Ein Projekt zur Einführung eines IAM Systems oder einer rechtkonformen Archivierung nach GeBüV oder anderer Aufbewahrungsvorschriften ist nicht denkbar ohne die vertiefte Prüfung der verbundenen Datenschutzanforderungen.

Dieser Ausgangslage sollten Projektaufträge Rechnung tragen. Das Projektsetup, die Zieldefinition und -messung sowie die Auswirkungen der Projektergebnisse müssen entsprechend umgesetzt werden, allenfalls sollten sie erweitert werden. Der Rechtsdienst des Unternehmens, idealerweise die Datenschutzbeauftragten, können dabei unterstützen.

Mögliche Bedrohungen der Informationssicherheit

 

Hinweis: Dieser Artikel wurde auch im Wirtschaftsguide als Beilage zur Sonntagszeitung publiziert.